AC/DC ‘Power Up’ For Album Release With Thundering ‘Realize’ Single

AC/DC are definitely ready to rock you. The veteran Australian band dropped the raucous “Realize” on Wednesday (Nov. 11), the second single from their anticipated 17th studio album, Power Up, due out on Friday (Nov. 13).

The group’s first new music since 2014 finds them reuniting with producer Brendan O’Brien, who was behind the boards for 2008’s Black Ice and 2014’s Rock or Bust.

The thumping “Realize,” written by guitarist Angus Young and late brother rhythm guitarist Malcolm Young, finds singer Brian Johnson getting his groove on over the band’s signature hard-thumping attack. Like most AC/DC songs, the message isn’t subtle. “Those moments just pass you by/ Gonna take you to paradise/ Move it/ Make you prove it, yeah/ Breakin’ out/ Break it down/ Feel the chill, feel the chill/ Movin’ down your spine,” he sings over Angus’ giant riffs and back-in-the-fold drummer Phil Rudd’s booming kit.

The band’s current line-up also features Malcolm Young’s nephew, Stevie Young, taking on the rhythm guitar spot and singer Johnson back in his spot after taking some time away to deal with hearing loss issues.

Listen to “Realize” below.